Sunday, 17 July 2011

Rahil Noorani from Mumbai clinches the pole for Race 1 of the JK Tyre Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2011

Rookie Polo R Cup driver, Rahil Noorani from Mumbai, stunned the field by claiming his first ever pole position for Race 1 of Round 2 of Polo R Cup 2011 with a time of 1:16:439 on his first lap out. Ajay Kini from Bangalore, who missed the last race qualified 2nd followed by the only Pune driver in the series, Oshan Kothadiya. Ajay clocked a time of 1:16:493 with Oshan very close behind with 1:16:553. Avdumber Hede from Goa will start 4th followed by Munjal Savla.
This round’s qualifiers proved to be a surprise with none of the winners from last round getting the top three positions on the grid. Mihir Dharkar who finished 2nd in both the races in round 1 will start 7th on the grid. Vishnu Prasad, who clocked 1:17:065 is placed 9th on the grid followed by Alisha Abdullah with 1:17.137.

Speaking about winning Pole Position, Rahil Noorani said, “I never expected to be on pole for only my second race weekend and I must admit it’s a great feeling. Even though it is very tight at the front this definitely gives me an advantage over the rest of the field. Now I just hope I am able to capitalize on this tomorrow and have a good race.”
Ajay Kini from Bangalore, starting second on the grid, said, “This is my first ever outing in the Polo R Cup and I am ecstatic to have qualified in 2nd position. Luckily the circuit is not new for me, so I will bank on my experience in the race tomorrow. My aim is simply to finish the race, and hopefully finish first.”


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More